State Board of Higher Education

The State Board of Higher Education (SBHE) governs the policies of the North Dakota University System. Those that sit on the board consist of seven citizen members appointed to four-year terms by the governor and one student appointed by the governor to serve a one-year term. The Council of College Faculties selects the board’s non-voting faculty advisor, and the NDUS Staff Senate selects the board’s non-voting staff advisor.

NDSA submits three of the most accomplished members for the governors review to appoint a student to the SBHE. North Dakota’s Student Member advocates for student interests directly to the board and is able to vote on those issues.

The 2020-2021 SBHE Student Member is Erica Solberg.

Erica is a student from North Dakota State University studying business administration and political science. After receiving her undergraduate, Erica plans to attend law school . She is a native of Bismarck, ND and has been a part of the NDSA for three years.